Feedback on trying to use Salt to automated a small task

My goal was pretty simple: I have a debian-10-dev template originally cloned from debian-10, into which I incrementally installed quite a number of packages. I want to automate things, so I don’t have to redo that for debian-11 and further releases. I’m pretty new with Salt, and trying to make sense out of the doc and @unman’s examples.

I started to concentrate on a formula to get packages installed into a template, and I find that disturbingly complicated.

Following examples it is not hard to come up with something like this, let’s put it in /srv/formulas/base/virtual-machines-formula/qvm/debian-dev.sls:

deb-dev-packages.installed:
  pkg.installed:
    - pkgs:
      - autoconf
      - automake
      - build-essential
      - clang
      - g++

From this example I infered a command-line:

qubesctl --skip-dom0 --targets=debian-11-dev state.apply qvm.debian-dev

I must say I’m horrified having to specify --skip-dom0, and when not specifying seeing a silent attempt to install all those packages in dom0, and also no error when making a typo in the VM name passed to --targets.

I tried to understand why I would need a .top file there, as all examples ship one alongside with the every .sls file. I thought they could be used to specify the target qube’s name, but each time I tried qubesctl ignored that it was not dom0 I specified in my .top file. And finally I just removed it, and qubesctl appears to do its job without a problem. Could someone shed some light here ?