Do I need 2 computers?

Hi, I am very new to Qubes and I recently heard for security and anonymity using Qubes with Whonix is your best bet. However I only want to use Qubes/Whonix for web surfing and would still like to use Windows for gaming and doing normal activities, like watching YouTube, doing school work, etc. So my question is, can I use 2 ssds instead of 2 computers? For example, can I install Qubes + Whonix on an empty SSD, while another SSD has windows 10 installed? (The Windows SSD will be my main, while qubes will just be for more secure web surfing) Or should I use a separate computer one for windows and the other for Qubes? I have a beefy gaming pc and a crappy old laptop that I doubt can run qubes. Are 2 computers necessary? If they arenā€™t necessary, is there some cons of just using one computer? Thank you!!

(sorry if this is a repeat question or was answered elsewhere I tried to look for it but couldnā€™t find one, or perhaps I didnā€™t look well enough again sorry)

1 Like

I currently have the 2 ssd setup you just described. It works just fine, but there are a couple security considerations to take into note. If your windows OS becomes compromised, it is theoretically possible for the unencrypted /boot section of your qubes ssd to become modified. If a very sophisticated malware were to be able to mimic the bootloader it could potentially learn your qubes password and/or compromise your qubes system.

That being said, something like that happening is would be rather rare and would need to be specifically tailored to accomplish this task and in reality, for ā€˜normalā€™ users, it probably isnā€™t too much of a concern. This attack vector can also be mitigated by having your boot/luks headers on a usb, encrypting /boot or just removing the qubes ssd while using windows.