Connecting android device via USB problem (device not appearing in "qubes devices"

Hello. I can’t see my fairphone appearing in “Qubes devices”. I opened the terminal emulator [Dom0] and listed USB devices with command “lsusb”. It probably showed my device under name (…Gooogle Inc. Nexus/Pixel Device (MTP + debug). What to do to make it appear in “Qubes devices” and later allow it to use in a specific cube?

Best regards,
Rarest Babe

Depending on the meaning of term “use”, you can access storage only in sys-usb. If you don’t see it in sys-usb, then further diagnose is needed.
Your post is pretty unclear, but to me it looks you don’t have sys-usb at all and you exposed dom0 to your phone via controller…

If so, I’d suggest immediate clean reinstall of Qubes with created sys-usb by default, but be careful if you have only one sys-usb controller though…

Sorry that my post is unclear but I am not a technical person and I am a newbie in this field. Cause I just want to connect my phone to ubuntu virtual machine which I created in a cube. When I for example inserted a USB drive, I saw it in the “qubes devices” in the right upper corner and I could give it access to different qubes. I have attached a photo below to make it more clear.

1 Like

If you open the Qubes Settings for sys-usb and select the Devices tab does it show all of your USB controllers in the “selected” column? If not, close the sys-usb qubes and move only these controllers from Available to Selected.

I agree that seeing the device listed by lsusb in dom0 is concerning, but unfortunately lack the expertise to know why this is happening. In dom0 use the command qvm-usb to check how your devices are connected.

I recommend to use Android devices inside sys-usb qube, if you have one. Are you using a USB keyboard? Then you should read this:

The Devices widget may not work in some cases with Android phones: