Configuring iptables for VPN to pentesting labs

Hello, first time poster here.

My situation is that I am a pentesting student, and I have a Kali app qube (from unman: Index of /Templates_4.1).

I connect via VPN to various lab environments full of lab machines to learn pentesting. Either my own homelab, or places like HackTheBox, TryHackMe, etc.

I experience the common problem where, because of how networking works in Qubes, I do not have the network connectivity I would like between my Kali VM and machines in the lab environment on the VPN. I would like my Kali VM to be able to receive incoming connections from other machines on the VPN/in the lab, for example if I am running a netcat listener trying to catch a reverse shell.

At first I was using a ProxyVM (based on debian-11-minimal with openvpn installed):

sys-net → sys-firewall → ProxyVM (with openvpn) → Kali VM

And that was working for most things, except for incoming connections to my Kali VM from machines on the VPN network (like a reverse shell). Tinkering with the iptables was beyond my ability. The default iptables that appear in my Kali VM, and in my ProxyVM are as follows:

$ sudo iptables -L            
Chain INPUT (policy DROP)
target     prot opt source               destination         
DROP       all  --  anywhere             anywhere             state INVALID
DROP       udp  --  anywhere             anywhere             udp dpt:bootpc
ACCEPT     all  --  anywhere             anywhere             ctstate RELATED,ESTABLISHED
ACCEPT     icmp --  anywhere             anywhere            
ACCEPT     all  --  anywhere             anywhere            
REJECT     all  --  anywhere             anywhere             reject-with icmp-host-prohibited
DROP       all  --  anywhere             anywhere            

Chain FORWARD (policy DROP)
DROP       all  --  anywhere             anywhere             state INVALID
ACCEPT     all  --  anywhere             anywhere             ctstate RELATED,ESTABLISHED