Changing password

I used a simple password when I installed QubesOS, but I’d like to change it to something harder.

Also, do you guys keep the same SSD password and login password?
I’m thinking of using 12 words for the SSD, but if the login password is too long, it will be a pain, so I’m thinking of making it easy.

I’m new to QubesOS and don’t know much about computers.

1 Like

This is not a Qubes OS-specific question. You can find readily-available answers to general queries like this on the Internet.

Also, you didn’t even specify which password you’re attempting to change.

Login password:

passwd

Cryptsetup passphrase:

sudo cryptsetup luksAddKey <partition>

where <partition> is likely /dev/nvme0n1p3 since you’re using an SSD. Add the key, test it well to make sure it works, then once you’re ready you can remove the old key with:

sudo cryptsetup luksRemoveKey <partition>

Next time do some research please. Most questions, even Qubes-related have already been asked and answered.

Moderation

Moved to User Support > General

1 Like

I want to change the two passwords I set during installation.
One is the password for SSD encryption and the other is the user password.
Sorry for the frustration. I know what a search is, but it’s very hard for a beginner to discern the right information. And I’m not a computer trained person.

1 Like

No problem, I provided the solutions for both cases in my previous reply.

1 Like

@kzlz Welcome to Qubes! I’m also fairly new to Qubes, but have been a long time Linux user. I have struggled with more than a few aspects of Qubes myself but now I’m finding that it was all worth the time spent.

@BEBF738VD was helpful in providing his answers, but you are right in thinking that there is a lot of information out there to sift through, and as a beginner it can be overwhelming.