Change IPv6-prefix used for qubes

Hello,
I want to change the default internal IPv6-prefix from ULA to a “real” GUA-addresses (I have a real allocation that I can grab a slice out of). The reason is that ULA-addresses doesn’t not really work in a dual stack environment, they are never used due to lower prio in the OS. I have native IPv6 at home, and would like to have a setup where my qubes work as my other local machines.
I haven’t really found where the IP-pools are to be found, so thankful for a hint.
Regards,
/Richie

Hi Richie!

I’m not a Qubes developer so I can’t give an authoritative answer to your question but I’m very interested in ipv6 and your question inspired me to look into it.

One thing I like to do whenever I have a question about a open-source tool is to look at relevant issues to see if other people have asked about it before. Applying that strategy I found this comment from the lead Qubes developer marmarek about ipv6 support:

But you can’t disable NAT. This is rather unavoidable(*) with tree-like
structure of network connections between VMs (sys-net → sys-firewall →
AppVMs, possibly sys-whonix in between).

Check out the linked issue for more context but his reasoning makes sense to me. The network architecture of Qubes seems to make NAT66, as gross as it may be, necessary.

Hello!