Can't Connect to WiFi (Dell XPS 7590)

I am brand new to Qubes and after installing in live USB and booting up I cannot connect to my own ethernet or Wi-Fi. I am not super well versed in programming beyond copying and pasting terminal lines, so I don’t know how to solve this on my own. I am using a Dell XPS 15 7590. I have tried everything I could find on google, and nothing has worked so far. Any suggestions would be super helpful! I am sorry if this isn’t formatted properly, I am very new and am willing to provide any missing information as needed. Thank you!

Welcome to Qubes - I hope we’ll be able to get things working for you.

The first thing to check is that you have you network cards allocated to
sys-net - you can check this on the “Devices” page in the settings for sys-net.
In the Qube Manager, find sys-net and Right click to get to Settings,
or select the Settings button on the Menu bar.

Then, look for the Network manager icon - it’s the one that looks like a
bar chart - click on it and you should see entries for Ethernet Network
and Wi-Fi networks.
If you see your router in the list, click on it to connect.

If not, there could be a software problem. Make sure that sys-net is
running. If not, open a terminal in dom0 and try to start sys-net -
qvm-start sys-net - if it doesn’t start, you may see a useful
feedback.

Open a terminal in sys-net and look at the logs to see if there are
any entries relating to those devices - it could be that you are missing
firmware that you need. Sometimes the log will tell you exactly what you
are missing, and how to remedy the problem.

Let us know what you find - and also, which version of Qubes you have
installed.

3 Likes

Thank you so much for responding! I have Qubes 4.0.4 installed and verified.
I found that there was a device called “3b:00.0 Network Controller: Qualcomm Atheros Wireless Network Adapter”.