Cannot boot into Qubes 4.1 - what has changed in 4.1 boot routine (UEFI)?

Hello,
after a temporary disk swap, I cannot boot into an existing Qubes 4.1 installation anymore unfortunately (UEFI).

From my experience with 4.0, Qubes OS is nitpicky regarding disk device changes. What I have usually done from Live rescue mode is:

efibootmgr -v -c -u -L QubesOS -l /EFI/qubes/xen.efi -d /dev/sda -p 1

This does not work with Qubes 4.1 (“no bootable device”).

I discovered in this post a slight change in the specified bootloader:

efibootmgr -v -c -u -L QubesOS -l /EFI/qubes/grubx64.efi -d /dev/sda -p 1

1.) Is latter the proper command for Qubes OS 4.1 now?

2.) is there any information, what exactly has changed in 4.1 boot routine? For example, why the change from xen.efi to grubx64.efi? (Does this have anything to do with the change from LUKSv1 to LUKSv2?)

I am no expert on UEFI and would be glad to read a bit more on this topic, preferably Qubes-specific.

Thanks in advance!

Here is an update: I can confirm the correct command now is:

efibootmgr -v -c -u -L QubesOS -l /EFI/qubes/grubx64.efi -d /dev/sda -p 1

Note the grubx64.efi bootloader instead of xen.efi.
On my system, I got a non-critical error at boot time, before the GRUB menu starts:

Welcome to GRUB!

error: file ‘/EFI/qubes/fonts/unicode.pf2’ not found.

I have no idea, why this file has been removed. But it does exist on the Qubes OS rescue disk (here /dev/sda):

mkdir /mnt/sda1
mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/sda1
ls -al /mnt/sda1/EFI/BOOT/fonts/unicode.pf2

One probably can copy this over again, but I don’t want to do any file copy operation to dom0, which is involved in the boot process. This file seems to be non-critical.

But maybe, someone is more clever than me and can explain all this :slight_smile:

1 Like

Yes, except drive and partition number

This is more complicated, i believe it’s related to secure boot, for more detail see here The rEFInd Boot Manager: Managing Secure Boot