Build advice: 13900T vs 5700G

Disclaimer: I know, just about everyone is tired of these. I am covering how guilty I feel by adding to the pile, by convincing myself that this one may be different by the sheer contrast between the two options.

I have been using Qubes OS for all my work for a few years now. I adore it and consider it essential. I don’t do anything special: up to 16 qubes at a time (including sys and other scaffolding and dispvms) in various activities including text editing, light coding, email, web browsing, text adventures, etc.

I tailored my latest laptop to Qubes OS (4800H 64Gb) and I have had zero complaints in terms of performance (the only disappointment is video playback, but I have given up on that front). However, it is LOUD, and after two years I cannot take the fan noise anymore.

Therefore, I would build a fanless low-power sort-of-portable desktop. But, I am stuck at the CPU decision: Intel 13900T or AMD 5700G?

The 13900T has 24 cores (8P+16E) at a measly 1.1Ghz base clock
The 5700G has “only” 8 cores at a much higher 3.8Ghz base clock

Common knowledge with Qubes OS has been more cores more better, and Intel > AMD (because Xen). But the difference in core count and cock speed between these two processors is huge.

Does the common knowledge apply or is the base clock of the 13900T too low? At what point is an advantage in number of cores overcome by the disadvantage in base clock?

Qubes 4.1 runs very smoothly on my AMD 5700G. It’s running on this fully passive (0 DB) system: Hardware compatibility list (HCL) | Qubes OS (Cirrus7 Incus)
I pretty much use Qubes for the same things as you, mostly development actually. The 64GB is not really needed, 32GB would also have sufficed.