Automated malware analysis, realistic/necessary for bulk downloads?

Hello, thank you qubes team and community for everything.

I am new to qubes (and linux for that matter). I have a security / malware question:

I download untrusted, 4tb of media (.mov .mp4 .mp3 .jpeg etc.) from disposables, torrents, etc. I would like to calm my paranoia and test for malware so I can use / share media on lesser secured devices such as window pc’s, home server and smartphones.

My choices seem to be
A) convert all media using transcoder (inefficient).
B) run something like cuckoosandbox and analyse like a pro (complex config for a newb).
C) run clamsav for hash/signature analysis and accept risk of any unidentified (sophisticated) malware.

Does anyone have an automated malware analysis qube setup?

quasi related: So... anyone made a Qubes Aquarium yet? - #2 by wind.gmbh

Is option C (ClamAV) good enough and am I being too paranoid?

Virustotal would solve this imo if there was a bigger size limit and not a 50k fee for API.

Thanks in advance.

2 Likes

Good Morning,

after reading your post, one question came to my mind: Even you could check the downloaded file with clamav (or any/every AV/Malware Scanner), convert it with a transcoder and let the file play within a sandbox, could you be sure that there is really no malicious code that just starts attacking after some time or is already trainend to detect sandboxes or could also be copied within a transcoding of the file?

Hash/Signature analysis is only as good as the patterns are. New stuff is maybe not detected when you scan the file.

So what would I do? Accept that there is a risk and keep these files separated from the important stuff. So if I would upload this on my Android, I would categorize this device as untrusted.

1 Like

This sounds like the compartimentalization option. Very Qubes OS! :+1: