Attack Early Warning, Detection, Delay and Denial System (IDS) for the Eye of Sauron & Co

After suffering The Eye of Sauron’s laser-fiberic gaze including harassment by it’s fat sloppy hopelessly telegraphing Orcs and Nazgul with overly large comedic fake iphone earbuds obviously not connected to a duplex GSM device, I believe it’s time to develop an attack early warning detection, delay and denial system within qubes through the use of IDS, Honeytraps, firewall and good old fashioned evidence collection and response. As icing on the cake, it would be great to have meta-data and fingerprint awareness through the SIEM, but IDS first.

I believe it will take quite a bit of research and study, but it’s worth it to me to achieve building this system. I’m sure the research on the matter would benefit all.

Please tell me if you have experience with this type of setup I’m pondering. I have some experience with snort, but looks like I could benefit from host intrusion detection system as well, such as OSSEC.

I’m choosing OSSEC and Snort because they seem to be both compatible with stock qubes os install and stock templates. Whereas I know many love suricata and pfsense but that’s openbsd, which would be another OS for me to manage, which I cannot afford to adopt and manage and secure time wise.