Any exhaustive list of packages that are needed for QubesOS templates?

Hello, I am fairly new to Qubes OS and would like to know if there’s any list of packages needed for Qubes templates to run.

I am coming from NixOS and am an active maintainer there. I would like to start working on a NixOS template for Qubes. As far as I know, the last person who tried didn’t finish porting the packages to NixOS. Therefore, I’d like to give it a try :slightly_smiling_face:

Thanks in advance!

9 Likes

I think it’s a good idea to start from debian template builder GitHub - QubesOS/qubes-builder-debian: Qubes component: builder-debian. From what I understand, qubes-builder-debian/template_debian/packages_minimal.list at main · QubesOS/qubes-builder-debian · GitHub creates an availble minimal linux, and qubes-builder-debian/template_debian/packages_qubes_minimal.list at main · QubesOS/qubes-builder-debian · GitHub pulls all ‘necessary’ packages through one meta package.

2 Likes

Alright, I’ll check and start from there then.
Thanks!

1 Like

A little update on this, just as an information in case someone is interested into knowing the state of the nixos template.

I’m currently busy with other stuff, and I’m still a QubesOS newbie, but I’m going to start packaging stuff as soon as I’m less occupied with work and other stuff.

4 Likes

signed up to the forum specifically to say that I’m really looking forward to this! I use nix package manager quite a lot on the Debian template.

1 Like

:star_struck: my face when new qube flavor

1 Like

I just found out about the latest NixOS that released a year or two ago, and it sounds nice to have as a VM inside of QubesOS

I am interested in this; I have bookmarked this thread :slight_smile:

Hello everyone,
Sorry to deceive you, but I decided to switch back to solely using NixOS.
There are a few things which made up that decision, as much as I like this distribution, it didn’t really fit to my workflow.