Will not update through Dom0

I updated qubes recently and was told that it couldn’t update through dom0 and would use a VM instead. I should not have updated it until I found out about this but I’m relatively new to qubes and went ahead. The following day I was not able to open my encrypted hard drive and have since lost all my data so am unable to examine the logs. Of course the two issues may be unrelated but I would like to hear from anyone who may have had similar issues…
Many thanks…

Sorry to hear about your issue.

Could you explain a bit more on:

I should not have updated it until I found out about this but I’m relatively new to qubes and went ahead.

What exactly did you run in dom0? It should always use an UpdateVM (like sys-net or sys-firewall, for example); there’s no way around it.

1 Like

Hi padhi,
I used the system update tray and ticked the various vm’s and templates that needed updating… After that It told me that I was unable to update through dom0 and it would use a template instead. After that it appeared to go through the proper process of updating and I checked the automatic logs that it produced and everything seemed all right but I am not an expert in understanding the output. I did update the same way of at least four occasions over the last six months and everything seemed to be fine… I’m of course wondering if I have been hacked here for this to happen or is that just plain paranoia at this stage?
Many thanks for your fast response…

Do you mean you used Qubes Update tool(which appears in notification area) ?

Do you mean you used Qubes Update tool(which appears in notification area) ?

Yes, that is correct!

Looks like you did everything right. This is the recommended way of updating Qubes OS. What do you mean by “I was unable to update through dom0”?

Please create a separate topic for your other issue, and the community will try to help.

What do you mean by “I was unable to update through dom0”?