Sudden Boot Failure due to seemingly innocuous config blunder

Hello forum and may I first thank the Creator/s for establishing this non-Google support service which I have been wishing for since January 2018.

That was when I installed Qubes OS 3.2 on a 1TB external USB HDD and after a few early revisions it has run extraordinarily nicely ever since … until today, Sunday 20-09-2020.

Excuse me for explaining the almost 100% certain catalyst for this inaugural system failure because even though it seems so unlikely to have caused this ‘read-only file system’ problem on boot, this was the one and only change I have made in over two(2) years, and my system disaster occurred immediately after I foolishly did so.

I wanted to hook up a Zyxel external USB modem dongal to try to increase my Wi-Fi reception better than the built-in Toshiba Satellite laptop’s Wi-Fi modem. After plugging in the USB modem to a USB slot on a 3-way multi-USB adaptor, there was seemingly no recognition by the network devices list, and so I thought it wise to try to tweak the sys-net VM somehow.

I selected the two available Intel USB ‘thingos’ listed and soon discovered that my external KBD and mouse (also connected via the 3-way multi-USB adaptor) lost communication. Oops! I probably should have cleared all the junk off the laptop KBD and touchpad and shutdown properly, but I have often had times when the external USB HDD has been bumped in its socket and had to hold down the power button for the usual ten seconds (10s) an so that is what I did this time too,

Now all hell has broken loose on my beloved Qubes OS system and I can’t boot past the ‘Disk Password’ routine. There are two years of carefully arranged bookmarks on sixteen(16) different VMs at stake, but at least all the data is currently safe and accesible through this Linux Mint system which is the laptop’s default OS when the external USB HDD is disconnected at boot.