Some questions - I really need help!

Hi, I’m pretty new to Qubes and could really use some advice. I’m on 4.0 and I just upgraded my Whonix from 15 to 16.

1. On Whonix 15 I used an RDP app inside WS-15 to connect to a VPS via RDP. Since upgrading to Whonix 16 and putting RDP app inside WS-16 it doesn’t want to connect. It brings me to the log in page and after I type in credentials it just says it can’t connect. I tested WS-15 / GW-16 and it worked like normal so issue must be with WS 16? I tried a couple different RDP apps and same issue.

2. Is above connection secure?

3. If I can’t find solution to above issue, would it be okay to use RDP app inside WS-15 / GW-16 or is that unsafe?

4. After Upgrading Whonix I was having an issue where salt wouldn’t update. So I opened Qube Manager and updated about 5 Qubes from there. Was that a mistake on my part? Could that have bypassed Qubes security and allowed malware in?

5. In general I’m finding my Whonix connection very slow even though I have 300 mbps internet. Is there any chance I could have configured something wrong to cause it to be so slow? For example just downloading Fedora 34 took hours. When I upgraded my Whonix all I did was follow the instructions on the Whonix site. I updated dom0 with sudo qubes-dom0-update command. I saw about 10 packages were updated/upgraded. I then typed the command sudo qubes-dom0-update --enablerepo=qubes-templates-community qubes-template-whonix-gw-16 qubes-template-whonix-ws-16.

After it was all installed I changed all my Qubes to WS-16 and sys-whonix to GW-16 template.

Any mistakes above?

have you asked on whonix forum?

it ok

no, it very rare case that only government (and most thing related) can do

might tor cause the issue and there almost nothing you can do about it if tor cause

strange. If ws15 - gw15 was working, I wonder, why ws16 - gw16 didn’t anymore. Sounds like somethings (package) is missing on the new whonix-gw/ws-16 VMs.