Need help installing Qubes OS

Hello, this is my first time installing Qubes OS and I own an Alienware Aurora and It has

1. m.2 nvme 500gb SSD (Win 11 OS)
  2. 2TB HDD
  3. 1TB 2.5 SSD
  4. 1TB 2.5 SSD
  5. m.2 nvme connected to motherboard via M.2 NVME to PCIe 3.0 x4 Adapter.

So, after manually installing the 5th m.2 nvme via the adapter, I installed the disk and created a new simple volume as NTFS/GUI disk.

I followed the procedure to create a qubes OS installation flash drive and disabled the secure boot and booted using the qubesOS flash drive and did the test this media and install OS option and in the install destination I could see the disk number 2), 3) & 4) but not 1) & 5). I’m planning to install qubesOS in 5).

Do you guys know why 5) is it not showing up & how to successfully install it ?

you don’t need to format it (not sure what partition format anaconda support, ntfs might a problem)

@ppc Thanks for your reply. so what do I do from here ? Do I have to delete the partition ?

try it

@ppc No luck :frowning: Still the SSD is not showing up.

can i see the installation destination screen?

Qubes uses the Fedora installer.
There was a long standing issue with fedora not recognising NVME drives.
You could check this using a live Fedora iso, and then selecting
“install to disk”. Try it.

You do not say which version of Qubes you are trying to install - 4.0 is
based off Fedora 25, which will (may?) not work. 4.1 is based off much
more recent base system.

You could try checking the boot mode - if it is set to RAID, change that
to “AHCI” - this has been reported to work with Fedora 32. I do not know
if this will affect any other OS you have installed on those other
drives.

If you are dual booting please read the documentation so you are aware
of any risks and pit falls in advance.

Thank you for your reply,

1. I’ll try the fedora live iso today and see if the nvme shows up,
  2. I’m using Qubes release 4.1.0-rc3