Guide on using an USB audio device with Qubes 4.1

https://www.reddit.com/r/Qubes/comments/tnib7k/guide_on_using_a_usb_audio_device_with_qubes_41/

I have bumped on this on r/Qubes yesterday. I’m still trying to make it work. I’m stuck at last command, because I don’t know the syntax of usb device name in it. That is why I didn’t put it to Guides.

If someone is willing to try, it would be great to share findings.

Please keep in mind that sys-audio that is mentioned there most probably is not not sys-audio in terms of Qubes 4.1

1 Like

Link without clutter: Guide on using a USB audio device with Qubes 4.1 : Qubes

1 Like

I am not good at writing guides, but will do my best.

The point of this guide-for-noobs-like-me is, by using the tips from a link in the OP to set up a separate sys-audio-like domain for USB audio cards in Qubes OS 4.1, so to avoid the need to attach-detach USB card from qube to qube when needed.
Instead, a single qube will be set, to which the USB card and microphone will be permanently attached, so all other qubes could use USB card without the need of direct attach.
I have named the domain usb-audio for obvious reasons and analogy.
Thanks to original contributor stroberrysugar.

I haven’t thoroughly searched the forum for such a guide, so please apologize if the one already exists.

Introductory remarks

I) Whole procedure is described as if sys-audio is already set up, like it was on my system. No step described is depended on this, so applicable even when there’s no sys-audio set.