Fresh Install - No templates, only have dom0 VM

I’m new to Qubes OS and Linux. I tried to install Qubes OS on a remote bare metal dedicated server through KVM but couldn’t get the installation to work. The host for my server installed the OS on their end for me. When I logged in to my KVM, the only VM I have in the VM Manager is dom0, and when I try to create a new VM i don’t have any templates, and because it’s dom0 I have no network access. I don’t know what the host did when they in stalled it but there’s literally nothing. I’ve tried reading through the forums to try to figure out what to do, and joined an unofficial discord for Qubes OS to try to find an answer. I’ve seen people talking about sys-firewall, sys-gui, sys-net but I have none of those, and I have no templates to choose from.

I found one thread where someone said to try

qubesctl top.enable qvm.sys-gui
qubesctl top.enable qvm.sys-gui pillar=True
qubesctl --all state.highstate

But I get an error message that says:

ID: fedora-34-xfce
Function: qvm.template_installed
Result: False
Comment: Failed to install template fedora-34-xfce. Additional info follows:
ERROR: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: '/etc/qubes-rpc/qubes.TemplateSearch'

I also got several errors due to UpdateVM not being set because I can’t create a VM and it’s set to default dom0. And it says in journalctl that it couldn’t find a connection to the host for the yum commands to install the needed template files.

Is there a way to possibly go back to the “Initial Setup” options for installing the basic VMs at installation without having to uninstall and reinstall the OS? I have no idea. Just grasping for straws.

Welcome to the qubes forum!

Not that i know of. If you did nothing with your installation so far, just reinstalling it would be the easiest solution normally. As you said that your server provider installed qubes for you, this might not be the best approach.