Difficulties finding the right hardware

Hello,

I have issues finding suitable hardware with a rather low budget. Normally I would prefer components based on AMD with iGPU, but the prices for AMD Ryzen processors are ridiculous high and there are no signs of relaxation in europe. Maybe I’m paranoid but since Meltdown, Spectre, Intel ME and other incidents I trust AMD a bit more than Intel. But I’m not an expert so it’s a kind of ‘feeling’.

Buying a cheap Laptop becomes a gamble in my opinion because even when CPU + Chipset + BIOS supports HVM and IOMMU I had a lot of trouble with energy saving and fan controls with Linux Laptops in the past. Another issue is that cheap laptops often have 6W TDP CPUs and crazy RAM limitations like 8 GB or 12 GB Max.

My use cases…

I would like to use Whonix with at least 2 Standalone VMs running at the same time. I guess that I need at least 16 GB RAM for that, but is it possible to tell how much RAM is needed without my custom VMs so I can calculate minimum RAM depending on my needs?

Another use case is a Standalone VM for watching Full HD streams like News, Television, Youtube, etc. in Firefox Browser. I could always shut down the VMs from the previous use case so this is probably no question of RAM but I read about issues with poor video playback due to GPU limitations. Is the new GUI Domain a game changer?

And what kind of CPUs are recommended for the mentioned use cases? I know that this depends on what my VMs are doing but maybe it’s possible to tell what CPUs are already busy using Whonix or video playback with Full HD so I can choose a better CPU. What do you think about the following “cheap” CPUs…
AMD Athlon 3000G (2C/4T)
Intel Celeron N4020 (2C/2T)
AMD Ryzen 3 1200 (4C/4T) (I know I will ned a PCIe-GPU but maybe this could improve video playback?)